| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


AMA Pro ATV Racing
Dustin Wimmer Takes AMA Pro ATV MX National Win at Echeconne

Macon, GA – Yoshimura Suzuki’s Dustin Wimmer grabbed his first overall win of the season by mastering the rough, sandy Echeconne MX track, host of the fourth round of the 2007 ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV Championship. Wimmer’s 1-2 moto scores on the rough, sandy track outscored series points leader and defending ATVA MX Champion Joe Byrd, who went 4-1 for second overall. Jeremy Lawson put together another fine run to take third overall.

The deep sand at Echeconne posed a big challenge to the riders, but the degree of difficulty ratcheted up further when heavy wind and rain dumped three inches of water on the track on Saturday. Track crews worked all night to bring the track around, and the sand helped drain enough water to salvage great racing by the time the motos kicked off under cool, overcast skies on Sunday afternoon.

Wimmer grabbed the Holeshot in moto one, with his teammate Doug Gust in second and Lawson third early on. Lawson and Gust battled back and forth for the whole moto, repassing each other a few times. Lawson tried a last-ditch effort to get around Gust on the last lap but came up short, giving the Yoshimura Suzuki team a 1-2 finish. Lawson, Byrd and Harold Goodman rounded out the top five.

Wimmer jumped out to the Holeshot again in moto two, with Byrd, Lawson and Gust close behind. The foursome battled in close formation for most of the moto, until Byrd finally got around Wimmer late, as Wimmer wisely backed off knowing he still had the overall win sewn up with a second place. Lawson, Gust and Pat Brown rounded out the top five.

ITP/Moose ATVA National Motocross Championships
AMA Pro ATV Round Four
Echeconne MX, Macon GA
April 15, 2007


1. Dustin Wimmer
2. Joe Byrd
3. Jeremy Lawson
4. Doug Gust
5. Harold Goodman
6. Jason Dunkelberger
7. Pat Brown
8. Rocco Anno
9. Russell Shumaker
10. Keith Little
11. John Ragon
12. Joe Havisto
13. Michael Brown
14. Justin Bres
15. Richard Pelchat
16. Alex Trompen

Manufacturer’s Cup


The ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV National Championship presented by Parts Unlimited continues in two weeks, April 28-29, with the ATV National at Birch Creek in Danville, VA.

About the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited:
Sanctioned by the AMA and ATVA, the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series is hosted by many of America’s premier motocross facilities. The 12-round series approaches its 21st season with the Pro class newly under the wing of AMA Pro Racing. The 2006 series hosted over 8,000 entrants, making it America’s largest, as well as its longest running, ATV National Motocross series. Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited. Premiere and Feature sponsors include ATV Sport, Moto Tees, Scott USA, Maxxis Tires, Elka Suspension and H-Bomb Films/Division Four. Associate sponsors include Weekend Warrior Trailers, Denton Racing, and Hinson Racing. Media partners include ATV Insider, ATV Rider and

About AMA Racing:
AMA Racing is the competition arm of the American Motorcyclist Association and is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its professional properties include the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF, the AMA Superbike Championship presented by Parts Unlimited, the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship, the AMA Supermoto Championship and the AMA Pro ATV Championship. In amateur and pro-am competition, AMA Racing sanctions over 4000 events in 24 different disciplines and supports over 110 thousand active members. For more information about professional racing, visit Accredited media outlets can also access an on line Press Room at For amateur racing information visit

About the ATVA:
The ATV Association (“ATVA”) is the official sanctioning body of the amateur divisions of the ATVA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited. The 9,000 member ATVA is the sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (“AMA”). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth at the rate of 25% in the past two years alone, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. Each round attracts 600-700 racers who compete for bragging rights to one of 31 amateur national titles. For more information about ATVA, visit

About the ATVPG:
The ATVPG is comprised of the 12 individual promoters that host the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championships, presented by Parts Unlimited. The goal of the ATVPG is to raise awareness of ATV motocross through the production of professional and amateur championship racing events. For more information on the ATVPG and the ATV National events they produce, go to

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums