| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


Rock Maple Racing

Handy takes top honors at Thunder Ridge for Can-Am RMR Series, Presented by the New England Dodge Dealers

SOUTH EDMESTON, N.Y. (July 16, 2007) - In the first two rounds of competition on Rock Maple Racing's (RMR) 2007 Can-Am series for ATVs, James Handy had come about as close to the top of the podium as you can get. The Rutland, MA, rider dogged Quebec racer Dave Larochelle all day but settled for second in the opener at Twister Valley, then logged another stellar run at Round 2 in Templeton, Mass.

With Larochelle a no-show, Handy tossed the monkey off his back with pride, as he claimed the Can-Am Pro Unlimited final Sunday afternoon at Thunder Ridge Cycle Park. Handy held off a late charge from Jon Glynn to post his first RMR Pro victory. James Stowell made it two-for-three in a thrilling Pro-Am Unlimited final, blasting past eventual runner-up Freddy Kiefer and third place Brent Miller to make it an all-New York podium.

Neal Moser rode his Suzuki to victory in A Unlimited action, out-gunning New Hampshire's Brian Daigle for top honors. This was Moser’s second win of 2007 after capturing the Plus 25 final at Twister Valley. Nick Reynolds blasted to a win in B 91-450cc Limited action, while Brent Miller powered his way to top honors in the 16-24 Unlimited class.

In an exciting final for the C Unlimited class, Mike Taylor held off Nick Redd and Brad Burbine to post the victory. Yamaha riders Nate Lashway and Trevor Hunter completed the top five. This was Hunter’s second top-five finish of the season. RMR snocross regular Bruce Gaspardi Jr. also put in a strong performance and posted a solid sixth place finish. Rounding out the top 10 were Jason Ruff, Josh Gola, David Dillabough and Justin Frink.

One of the first winners in RMR's inaugural season of ATV competition was back on the podium Sunday at Thunder Ridge. Andrew Ruel, of Enfield, N.H., rode his Honda to victory in the Production Lites final. Ruel was followed across the line by Justin Chamberland of Pittston, Maine, and Michael Maxam of Rome, New York. This was Chamberland's second straight runner-up finish in Production Lites.

Other winners on Sunday at Thunder Ridge include Stephen Beckwith (Plus 25); Douglas Shaffer (Plus 35); Kyle Ludgate (0-90cc Modified); Jacob Chamberland (0-90cc Limited and 0-90cc Unlimited); Ethan Pearson (0-70cc Modified); Matt Kratts (0-50cc Senior); and CJ Clookey (0-50cc Junior).

In QuadTerrain action at Thunder Ridge, Alex Layn held off Derek Williams to claim the Terrain 700 final. Layn made the trip out to New York from Bristol, VT, while Williams towed up from Methuen, Massachusetts. Interest in the QuadTerrain classes is growing steadily, as owners of popular ATVs realize the joy of competing on these challenging course layouts.

Rock Maple Racing would like to thank the staff at the beautiful Thunder Ridge Cycle Park for making Round 3 so successful. The next round on the 2007 Can-Am RMR series is set for Sunday, July 29, at Crow Hill Motorsports Park. Rock Maple Racing is the eastern affiliate of the World Powersports Association (WPSA), the national sanctioning body for ATV racing. To learn more, visit us online at

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums