| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


ATVA Natioanal MX Series

Dustin Wimmer dominates overall for the ITP/Moose Racing ATVA MX Series at Unadilla

Joe Byrd stayed undefeated when it came to the holeshot.
Joe Byrd stayed undefeated when it came to the holeshot.
Dustin Wimmer with the lead.
Dustin Wimmer with the lead.

New Berlin, IL — Jeremy Lawson won Sunday's top qualifier award for turning the fastest lap time with a 2:02.355. The gate was packed for the first Pro moto and Joe Byrd pulled the holeshot over MSR Yoshimura Suzuki's Dustin Wimmer, Jeremy Lawson and Patrick Brown and Josh Creamer rounding out the top five. Then Wimmer passed Byrd after a couple laps, pulling up beside him multiple times before making the pass on lap four. Lawson and Byrd maintained second and third while Wimmer pulled a slight lead over the front runners. The battle ensued for Brown and Creamer for the fourth spot, until Creamer's ATV started smoking and he began to fall back. The three-time Canadian champion Jasmin Plante brought his Yamaha to the fifth place position. Meanwhile, Lawson and Byrd battled for second as Wimmer had a comfortable 7-second lead by the finish. Byrd held second over Lawson, who was 3/10 of a second behind, with Brown over Plante in top five.

Byrd pulled another holeshot in Moto 2, over Wimmer, Lawson, Chris Bithell and Plante for the top five. By the end of lap one, Wimmer had passed Byrd for the lead before the skyshot jump, and Wimmer checked out from Byrd and Lawson. No real changes came from the top three, though Brown was trying to get passed Plante on lap five of the 11-lap race. Brown ended up going down hard when he tried to maneuver passed Plante, and re-fired his machine to finish 13th. With Wimmer out front, Byrd and Lawson finished top three, with the current Canadian MX champ Richard Pelchat in fifth.

The podium celebration.
The podium celebration.

The overall went to Dustin Wimmer, followed by Joe Byrd in second, Jeremy Lawson in third, with Jasmin Plante and Josh Creamer inside the top five overall.

The ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV National Championship presented by Parts Unlimited continues with the final round of the series at the ATV Dirt Days at Loretta Lynn's Ranch on August 11-12 in Hurricane Mills, TN. Log on to for live updates from the Ranch!

Harv Whipple contributed to this report.

Photos by Shane Hartman

About the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited:
Sanctioned by the AMA and ATVA, the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series is hosted by many of America’s premier motocross facilities. The 12-round series approaches its 21st season with the Pro class newly under the wing of AMA Pro Racing. The 2006 series hosted over 8,000 entrants, making it America’s largest, as well as its longest running, ATV National Motocross series. Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited. Premiere and Feature sponsors include ATV Sport, Moto Tees, Scott USA, Maxxis Tires, Elka Suspension and H-Bomb Films/Division Four. Associate sponsors include Weekend Warrior Trailers, Denton Racing, and Hinson Racing. Media partners include ATV Insider, ATV Rider and

About AMA Racing:
AMA Racing is the competition arm of the American Motorcyclist Association and is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its professional properties include the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF, the AMA Superbike Championship presented by Parts Unlimited, the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship, the AMA Supermoto Championship and the AMA Pro ATV Championship. In amateur and pro-am competition, AMA Racing sanctions over 4000 events in 24 different disciplines and supports over 110 thousand active members. For more information about professional racing, visit Accredited media outlets can also access an on line Press Room at For amateur racing information visit

About the ATVA:
The ATV Association (“ATVA”) is the official sanctioning body of the amateur divisions of the ATVA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited. The 9,000 member ATVA is the sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (“AMA”). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth at the rate of 25% in the past two years alone, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. Each round attracts 600-700 racers who compete for bragging rights to one of 31 amateur national titles. For more information about ATVA, visit

About the ATVPG:
The ATVPG is comprised of the 12 individual promoters that host the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championships, presented by Parts Unlimited. The goal of the ATVPG is to raise awareness of ATV motocross through the production of professional and amateur championship racing events. For more information on the ATVPG and the ATV National events they produce, go to

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums