| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


ITP/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA ATV Motocross National Championship Series

Wienen Sets Fast Time in Qualifying
Illinois native nearly two seconds up on the Loretta Lynn field

Chad Wienen was nearly two full seconds faster on the rest of the ATV field during qualifying Saturday the Loretta Lynn Ranch.
Chad Wienen was nearly two full seconds faster on the rest of the ATV field during qualifying Saturday the Loretta Lynn Ranch.
HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. (Aug. 9, 2008) -- Chad Wienen has had rotten luck this season. The rider of the No. 44 Team Rockstar/ MSR/Suzuki/Yoshimura/Pro Taper Suzuki) suffered two shoulder injuries in successive weeks and was even sidelined for a race. That all changed Saturday at ATV Dirt Days as the Loretta Lynn Ranch as Wienen netted the top spot in qualifying for tomorrow's finals. The race is the season finale for the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA National Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited.

Wienen was nearly two full seconds ahead of his teammate Dustin Wimmer (No. 191 Team MSR/Suzuki/Yoshimura/Pro Taper Suzuki). Pat Brown (No. 199 Factory Yamaha) was third quick, ahead of Doug Gust (No. 55 Team Rockstar/ MSR/Suzuki/Yoshimura/Pro Taper Suzuki), and Josh Creamer (No. 9 Team Monster Energy/Kawasaki).

"This feels really good," said Wienen. "I spent the last few weeks training in the heat and the bike is working great. I won here last year, and the reason I won was consistency. I hope stay consistent tomorrow and win the race.

"This has been just a difficult season," added Wienen. "I came out swinging at the beginning of the year, then I was hit with those two shoulder injuries. That was tough to deal with, but I'm glad to be fully recovered now. A win here would give me great personal joy, but, more importantly, it would be great to give back to my fans. They've stuck with me this season and they've been waiting a long time for a win."
Jasmin Plante (No. 91 Ultimate Yamaha/Toyota Yamaha), Jason Dunkelberger (No. 19 East Coast ATV), Russ Shumaker (No. 68 Team Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Rocco Arno, Jr. (No. 101 Privateer) qualified for the final through the Last Chance Qualifier. Hunter Miller, Brian Ace, Trent Kandel, and Rich Stambach didn't qualify.

ATV Dirt Days continues tonight with a live concert by Krista Marie. The event concludes tomorrow with Pro finals, as well as a full compliment of Pro-Am, Amateur, Youth and Women's Racing.

Pro Qualifying Results (showing rider, hometown, number and manufacturer):

1.     Chad Wienen, Galena, Ill., 44, Suzuki.
2.     Dustin Wimmer, Center Valley, Pa., 191, Suzuki.
3.     Pat Brown, Pittstown, N.J., 199, Yamaha.
4.     Doug Gust, Salem, Wis., 55, Suzuki.
5.     Josh Creamer, North Stonington, Conn., 9, Kawasaki.
6.     Harold Goodman, Romulus, Mich., 708, Honda.
7.     Greg Gee, Simcoe, Ontario, 9, Can-Am.
8.     Sage Baker, Shasta Lake, Calif., 49, Can-Am.
9.     Cody Miller, Greenville, Texas, 22, Can-Am.
10.  Jeremy Lawson, Live Oak, Fla., 16, Can-Am.
11.  Josh Upperman, Louisville, Ohio, 20, Honda.
12.  Keith Little, Spruce Pine, Ala., 12, Kawasaki.
13.  John Natalie, Jr., Houtzdale, Pa., 13, Can-Am.
14.  John Ragon, Milan, Tenn., 98, Honda.
15.  Cale Downen, Junction, Ill., 727, Honda.
16.  Joe Byrd, Union City, Tenn., 7, Honda.
17.  Jasmine Plante, Notre Dame, Quebec, 91, Yamaha.*
18.  Jason Dunkelberger, Trevorton, Pa., 19, Honda.*
19.  Russ Shumaker, Bristol, Wis., 68, Kawasaki.*
20.  Rocco Arno, Jr., Bridgeton, N.J., 101, Honda.*

* Qualified through the LCQ.

About the ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited
The AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, and competes at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 11-round series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV National Motocross series with more than 20 years of competition. The series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while keeping close to the grassroots fun that makes people love to go to the races. Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited. Premiere and Feature sponsors include ATV Sport, Moto Tees, Scott USA, Maxxis Tires, Elka Suspension and H-Bomb Films/Division Four. Associate sponsors include Weekend Warrior Trailers, Denton Racing, and Hinson Racing. Media partners include ATV Insider, ATV Rider and For more information, please visit

About the ATV Association (ATVA)
The ATV Association (“ATVA”) is the official sanctioning body of the amateur division of the ATVA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited. The 9,000-member ATVA is a sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (AMA). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth at the rate of 25% in the past two years, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. Each ATVA round attracts hundreds of racers who compete for bragging rights to one of 31 amateur national titles. For more information, please visit

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums