| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


Indiana XC Racing

IXCR Round 2
Presented by On Target Polaris and Moose Racing

Mills Farms, Canaan, Indiana (5-31-2009) - In the world of XC racing, I’m not sure that you can even ask for better conditions than what we had for round 2 of the Indiana Cross Country Series presented by On Target Polaris. Sunny skies and just enough moisture created an awesome XC course that almost 300 racers enjoyed. On Target Polaris, Moto-X Perts, Jett Motorsports, and Panda’s Powder Coating all took advantage of the vendor row at round 2 and I saw several people at each booth all day long.

The 65 & 85cc bikes took the track first. The ten second call was made and Jaden Smith grabbed up the first youth holeshot of the year and never looked back. He won the 85cc class followed up by Ethan Eckstein and Braden Browning. In the 65cc class Charlie Welch took the win with local rider Brandon Ball as the runner up.

Next up was our youth quads and Tyler Weltich was our overall winner coming from the 90cc stock class with Lee Smith and Austin Harden in tow. Colby Welch won the 70cc class and Logan Merriman was back at it taking the 90cc Production class win and Dylan Taylor was our runner up.

\With a course of 9 miles and almost 100 bikes setting on the line Charlie “Hot Rod” Mullins took the Pro Class holeshot and lead from green to checkers! Charlie showed everyone what it takes to run top five at the nationals by setting a blistering pace the entire race on his Suzuki. Jack Mason took the A Lites win and Jeff Mote dominated the A Class. Brent Mayer finished out front in the B Class with Wesley Harris and Matt Dargie in 2nd and 3rd. Austin Cornwell scooped up the Halcomb Holeshot cash along with the 1st place plaque in the B Lites while Zach Halcomb settled for 2nd and Cayle Booth in 3rd. Our Class had 33 entries which was our largest class of the day and Josh Keys came out of the woods in first. Darrin Moyer was second and Ryan Laurent was third. The Vet A class winner took notes from his son and it must have worked cause Zeke Smith took the W! Vet A was one rider shy of its normal turn out as Joey Stanly is having some health issues and I know everyone in this class wishes him a speedy recovery. Vet B saw Robert Knau cross the finish line first just like Joe Halcomb did in the Senior 40+A class. Charlie Mullins Sr. also acted like his son by winning the Senior 40+B class followed by Rick Booth and John Kirby. Bailey Parker took control of the woman’s class and Stuart Fergueson won the Super Senior 50+ class with Matt Yeiter putting his Kawi in second.

Last but not least the ATV’s took their turn on hills of southern Indiana. Andrew Langston put his big yellow machine out front in the Utility class and Travis Marvin did the same in the Utility Unlimited. First year racer 25+ class saw William Spence on top of the box at the end of the day. 36+C is loaded with talent this year and Troy Clark was do’n work in this class while Scott Hash and Bill Westrick followed him thru the scoring tent. Jason Kirchhoff and Brad Morrison have both taken back to win’s in the sport and sport lites class. Ed Anderson was victorious in the 22-27 C Class followed up by the Kentucky rider Lee Riley. Matt Williams and Kevin Blundell continue to battle things out both locally and nationally. This day Matt would finish first though. Blaine Homan showed just how bad of a dude he is by winning the 16-21 C Class with Shane Smith as the runner up. Richard Bellis earned his 3rd place finish in the 16-24 First Year Racer Class while Daniel Hash took the win. Nathan Wallpe put his HillTop Motorsports bike on the Podium taking 3rd overall and won the A Class. Mike Muskopf fought off Marquis Dungan and Bruce Marshall in the Vet 30+ class for the win. In the B 16-23 Class Jordan Gilkerson, Jake Stonebraker, and Michael Marley fought to finish in the top three slots while Andy Klingworth won the Pro Am Class. Chad Muskopf has got his Kawi dialed in, but didn’t have enough to catch Brad Lambert in the 28-35 C Class. Our Pro Class was won by Yamaha backed rider Donnie Ockerman and S.I.C.C. Racing’s Todd Demaree found himself in second for the day.

This track offered up anything that you will ever find in an XC race. Hill Climbs, creek jumps, open fields, tight trees, and mud fleas. IXCR will be back for round 3 on July 12th. Be sure to stop by and chat on the forums to keep up with the latest gossip and let’s all support our series sponsors.

Until next time, Stay between the trees!

About Indiana XC Racing 
Indiana XC Racing (IXCR) is presented by On Target Polaris. Indiana XC Racing is one of the largest off-road racing series in the Midwest. With races held throughout Indiana, IXCR draws racers from Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, and More. Quickly gaining respect from racers and the racing community IXCR is proud to be sponsored by: On Target Polaris, Moose Racing, Scott Goggles, Yamaha, Moto-Xperts, Rekluse, Demaree Motorsports, Dreyer Honda, Dreyer Motorsports, Discount Tire, Hilltop Motorsports, Hygh Octane Graphics, Jet Suspensions, Panda Powder coating, Rocket Ron Racing,, Spider Grips, Thomas Racing Services and WKC Powersports.

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums