| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

» Arctic Cat

» ATK/Cannondale

» Can-Am

» E-Ton America

» Honda

» Kasea

» Kawasaki


» Polaris

» Suzuki

» Yamaha

ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


Indiana XC Racing

IXCR Round 3
Presented by On Target Polaris
BEACH FARMS presented by Scott Goggles

Kevin Cunningham

Donnie O catchin air

Rancher airing it out

HOLTON, IN - Sunday, Sunday, Sunday, Over three hundred racers gathered in Holton, In for Round three of the IXCR Series present by On Target Polaris. The day started with a hill climb to the parking lot and that lot got filled up by racers from several states. A few light showers fell Saturday evening making for great XC racing conditions.

The youth bikes hit the track first and Charlie Welch picked up another win in the 65cc open class followed up by Gage Sproles and Daryl Murrell. Jake Layman was victorious in the 85cc open bike class with Ethan Eckstein and Hunter Madison grabbing the remaining podium positions.

Next up was the Youth quad classes. Matthew Harris was our Super Mini winner and winning must run in the blood for the Harris’s, as Vincent Harris won the 90cc Production class with Dylan Taylor and Logan Merriman close behind. Lee Smith was the man to beat in the 90cc stock class, Tyler came in only three second behind Lee and Aaron Tharp took home a third. Kaleeb Williams pushed hard all race to take the “W” in the 70cc class.

The 96 big bikes got the course next, as the sun got higher the temps did the same. Chris Douglas came over from Ohio to win the Overall along with the Pro bike class followed by Marty Michaels. David McWilliams was our A Class bike winner and Derrick Allen dominated the A Lites. The Vet A 30+ class saw Tire Balls rider Jeff Stoess take the win on his Team Gateway Husqvarna. And the Halcomb Holeshot provider, Joe Halcomb, won the Senior 40+ A Class. Wesley Harris put it on the B Class while Matt & Chris Dargie battled it out for 2nd and 3rd. Zach Halcomb has really stepped up his game this year with a huge win in the B Class Lites class as Jesse Vermillion was runner up. Chris Miller and Jeff Sweetin were our top finishers in the Vet 30+B class, while Robert Sheppard and David Robinson took the top two slots in the Senior 40+ B. The Super Senior 50+ class saw Don Rainey win. After the racers decision IXCR has split the C Classes up into three age brackets, so we have several C Class winners. Brennon Wolf won in the C 15-21, Garon Davis in 22-29, and Darrin Moyer in the 30+ class. Our final class of the day was the woman’s class which Bailey Parker put her KTM out front.

The last race of the day goes to the 178 quads which were on the line and ready to roll. Shawn Beavers grabbed the holeshot in the Pro class and held the early lead till he suffered a flat tire. This gave Donnie Ockerman the chance to grab the lead and never look back. KTM rider Josh Beavers was the runner up followed by SICC Racings Todd Demaree. Hilltop Motorsports Andy Klingworth was our Pro Am winner followed up by a Moto-Xperts Yamaha mounted Jonathan Shaff. Nate Wallpe, Tyler Bostock, and Daniel Schoolcraft battled all day long in A class. Michael Marley pulled out a victory over the point’s leader Jordan Gilkerson, with Jake Stonebraker in the bronze position. WKC Rider Mike Muskopf won the Vet 30+ with Marquis Dungan in second followed up by On Target Polaris’s own Steve Zapfe in third. The deep creek crossing, and slick hill climbs were no match for Matt Williams, he told me his GBC’s being held up by his Tire Balls gave him traction all over the course. Kevin Blundell was the runner up and him and Matt look to be at another level as they both walked away from the 24+ B Class. Kevin Cunningham continued his winning ways by stretching out a big lead in the 16-21 C class with Jake Humphrey in second. Chris Benskin had no problems with the creek jump or tight woods as he went on to the win the 22-27 C Class followed by Jeff Nanny, who was kind enough to push me out of some deep ruts when I was hung up. (Thanks again Jeff!!) Old Man Brad Lambert took the W in the 28-35 class with Chad Muskopf finally getting that Kawi dialed in for a second place finish. And I can’t do this report with out at least mentioning George Luton coming to the race all the way from Maryland to race with us. George finished third for the day and gets the farthest drive award. Scott Hash gets a piece of wood showing he was the fastest on this day in the 36+ C Class with Dan Mullins and Brent Marshall in tow. The Hash boys did well in the hills of southern Indiana as Daniel Hass won the 16-24 First Year racer class William Spence winning the 25+ First year racer. Sport Atv was won by Bryan Chenoweth, while Charlie Rose was our Sport Lites winner. Andrew Langston and Travis Marvin muscled there big utilities around for a couple hours and both won the Utility and Utility Unlimited classes.

That’s all of our racing results and I’ll leave you with a few side notes. I know we all get frustrated when things don’t go as planned or scheduled. But when someone get’s injured things get put on hold. So the staff is sorry to be running behind, but someone’s safety is well worth a small delay! We will try and a get an update on the youth rider who was injured. This was a brand new location for IXCR and this may go on my favorite track list. Everyone seemed to enjoy the track so hopefully we will be going back to Beach Farms for many years to come. It’s the summer time people, get out there and ride as much as possible, round 4 is only a few weeks away. We will be at Lawrence County for the next race on August 2nd. So wash those machines, tighten those bolts, and clean that air filter, its race season boys and girls!

About Indiana XC Racing 
Indiana XC Racing (IXCR) is presented by On Target Polaris. Indiana XC Racing is one of the largest off-road racing series in the Midwest. With races held throughout Indiana, IXCR draws racers from Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, and More. Quickly gaining respect from racers and the racing community IXCR is proud to be sponsored by: On Target Polaris, Moose Racing, Scott Goggles, Yamaha, Moto-Xperts, Rekluse, Demaree Motorsports, Dreyer Honda, Dreyer Motorsports, Discount Tire, Hilltop Motorsports, Hygh Octane Graphics, Jet Suspensions, Panda Powder coating, Rocket Ron Racing,, Spider Grips, Thomas Racing Services and WKC Powersports.

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums