| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

Arctic Cat



E-Ton America








ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


ITP/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA ATV Motocross National Championship Series

Riders and Guests Celebrate ATVMX Season at Annual Banquet

Morgantown, W.Va. (November 18, 2009) - Over 450 riders and their guests of the ITP/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship gathered for the final time in 2009 at the annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, November 14, at the Grand Resort Hotel and Convention Center in Pigeon Forge, Tenn. Not only were the top 10 amateur riders in all 34 National classes honored on stage but also the recipients of many special awards were announced.

All riders who demonstrate a remarkable season were taken into consideration for the Rider of the Year Award which has historically been awarded to a Pro or Pro-Am rider. Heather Byrd went undefeated for the second year in a row to take home her sixth championship title and earning her first Rider of the Year Award - a landmark in Women's racing.

"It is an awesome award," Byrd said. "I've been racing for 27 years and I've won multiple championships and this is probably the best award I've received. Women in racing have earned a lot of respect in the last decade and this really shows we are making leaps and bounds finally and people are seeing that we are doing the same things guys are, throwing a leg over a four wheeler. We are finally getting to where we need to be."

The Hard Luck Award went to 90cc rider Cody Shelton and his father Mitchell when their motor-home caught fire on the way to the Birch Creek National, leaving them stranded on the side of the road. Fabian Gibson, father of Pro-Am Champion Cody Gibson, became the recipient of the Good Samaritan award for coming to the Shelton's aide. Gibson not only helped the Shelton's get to the race, but also returned to bring their possessions to the track.

"Fabian is the kind of guy that will notice stuff like that and stop and help people," said Mitchell Shelton. "He's just a good helpful guy and we really appreciated it."

Freida Rozelle was presented with the "Heart of the Sport" Award for her incredible dedication despite being involved in a terrible car accident at the beginning of the season that left her paralyzed. Rozelle took the lead in organizing the Youth Contingency Program for the third year in a row, all while enduring surgeries and therapy.

The complete list of Special Awards from the evening include:

Hard Luck Award: Cody Shelton
Good Samaritan: Fabian Gibson
Heart of the Sport: Freida Rozelle
Most Improved Rider: Kayle Dyer
Sportsmanship Award: Chase Cunningham
Sponsor of the Year: Can-Am
Rough 'N Ready Pit Crew: Rath Racing
Rookie of the Year: Joel Hetrick
Rider of the Year: Heather Byrd

For Top 10 riders who could not attend and would like to receive their trophy you must respond with the following information no later than November 30 to obtain your award. Please send rider's name, class and finish along with their mailing address to There will be a $10 charge for shipping so please call 304-284-0101 with a credit card or mail a check or money order to ATVPG, 122 Vista Del Rio Drive, Morgantown, W.V. 26508.

About the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited
The ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited is the nation's premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, and competes at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 11-round Pro series and 10-round amateur series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America's largest and longest-running ATV National Motocross series with more than 20 years of competition. The series continues to expand and produce top talent in the Pro ranks, while keeping close to the grassroots racing and fun that makes people love to go to the races. For more information, please visit

About the ATV Association (ATVA)
The ATV Association ("ATVA") is the official sanctioning body of the amateur division of the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited. The 9,000-member ATVA is a sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (AMA). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth in recent years, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. For more information, please visit

About the ATV Promoters Group (ATVPG)
The ATVPG is composed of the individual promoters that host the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited. The goal of the ATVPG is to raise awareness of ATV motocross through the production of professional and amateur championship racing events. For more information on the ATVPG and the ATV National events they produce, please visit

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums