| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

Arctic Cat



E-Ton America








ATV Clubs
Classified Ads



AMA congratulates champions of Grand National Cross Country Series
2010 AMA Racing No. 1 plates will be awarded at AMA Racing Championship Banquet, presented by World of Powersports

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) congratulates 2010 Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series (GNCC) bike champions Josh Strang (XC1) and Kailub Russell (XC2), and ATV champions Chris Borich (XC1) and Brian Wolf (XC2), as well as all class champions for their successful racing seasons. The final GNCC round took place over the weekend in Crawfordsville, Ind.

"GNCC racing is one of the most intense experiences in off-road competition," said AMA Director of Racing Joe Bromley. "Putting together a full season of success in this series is an amazing accomplishment. These riders have demonstrated that they are not only some of the most talented athletes on the planet, but they have the mental fortitude, drive and preparation of champions.

"Of course, this was possible thanks to GNCC promoter Racer Productions, which once again combined a series of challenging courses with organization and showmanship, delivering a championship-caliber experience to AMA members from around the country," Bromley said.

Although Strang, Borich and Russell wrapped up their No. 1 plates at the penultimate round in St. Clairsville, Ohio, several titles remained up for grabs at Crawfordsville's popular Ironman event.

One of the tightest was the battle for the XC2 ATV championship, which Wolf won by virtue of a tie-breaker over Walker Fowler. Fowler took the win at Crawfordsville, but Wolf, from Medina, Ohio, finished second. That finishing order gave both riders 281 points on the season, although Wolf managed five wins to Fowler's four.

In the bike classes, one very tight battle was in the 30+ Vet A class where Duane Conner triumphed over Phil Smith with 157-156 championship points in the final standings. Conner's win in Crawfordsville, and Smith's fourth-place finish, sealed the deal for Conner, who hails from Houston, Pa. The 40+ Senior A class also was won by a single championship point. Stephen Thaxton, from Charleston, W.Va., took the title over Larry Silvia, 150-149. Silvia finished second and Thaxton third in the final race, but the margin wasn't enough for Silvia to overcome Thaxton's three wins earlier in the season.

The AMA will honor these and other 2010 racing champions at the AMA Racing Championship Banquet, presented by World of Powersports, on Nov. 20 at the Red Rock Casino, Resort and Spa in Las Vegas, Nev. The banquet is part of the AMA Legends & Champions Weekend, which also includes the 2010 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and the 2010 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Concours d'Elegance Bike Show.

In addition, the weekend also includes the final round of the AMA GEICO Endurocross Series, held at the Orleans Arena.

Tickets to the AMA Racing Championship Banquet, presented by World of Powersports, are $69 per person and also include a meal. Tickets to the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are $89, which includes dinner. In addition, guests at either or both banquets receive a special Red Rock room rate of just $90 plus tax per night, a $150 discount off the normal rate. Banquet tickets, reservations and additional event information can be found at For ticket information for the AMA GEICO Endurocross, visit

The Grand National Cross Country Series has its roots in a series of hare scrambles races promoted by Racer Productions in the 1970s. Evolving into the GNCCs in the early 1980s, the series has since grown into one of the most popular off-road championships in the United States. Today, individual GNCC events typically attract 1,500 competitors who race all-terrain vehicles, mini-bikes and full-sized race machines in a number of skill-, age- and displacement-based classes.

Full series championship results can be found at

About the American Motorcyclist Association
Since 1924, the AMA has promoted and protected the motorcycling lifestyle. AMA members come from all walks of life and they navigate many different routes on their journey to the same destination: freedom on two wheels. As the world's largest motorcycle organization with nearly 300,000 members, the AMA advocates for motorcyclists' interests in the halls of local, state and federal government, the committees of international governing organizations and the court of public opinion. Through member clubs, promoters and partners, the AMA sanctions more motorsports competition events than any other organization in the world. Through its Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, the AMA preserves the heritage of motorcycling for future generations. For more information, visit

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums