| Calendar | ATV/UTV Forums | ATV/UTV Reviews | ATV/UTV News | ATV/UTV Product Reviews | ATV/UTV Racing | ATV/UTV Trails | ATV/UTV Videos

ATV Bone
Machine Reviews
Press Releases
Product Reviews

Arctic Cat



E-Ton America








ATV Clubs
Classified Ads


Can-Am GNCC Racing

Borich and Fowler Top 2011 GNCC ATV Championships
America's fastest four-wheeled woods racers complete another strong season

Morgantown, W. Va. (November 10, 2011) - Chris Borich wrapped up his third consecutive Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series title after winning an impressive nine of 13 races in the ATV XC1 Pro class this season on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki. Similarly, Ballance Racing Yamaha's Walker Fowler dominated the XC2 Pro Am class, making GNCC history as the young racer went undefeated with 13 consecutive race-wins. Along with the XC2 title, Fowler enters the XC1 Pro class as a rookie in 2012 with two overall race wins under his belt already.

But Borich and Fowler are just part of the 2011 GNCC Championship roll call. In GNCC, the afternoon race consists of not only Pro and Pro Am classes, but also the "A" and "B" classes - making for a fast-paced two-hours of racing from the first row to the last. Marietta, Ohio's Braden Henthorn proved to be a tough competitor this year as he claimed the College A (16-21) class championship and even moved up to the XC2 Pro Am ranks for the final two rounds of racing. Manchester, Maryland's Landon Wolfe took the College B (16-21) class championship and finished the season with an impressive win in College A, with the absence of Henthorn at the final round at Loretta Lynn Ranch. Other "A" class champions include Jonathan Fugate in Junior A (22+), Todd Demaree in Vet A (30+) and Senior A (40+) champion Tom Wright. Other "B" class champions include Junior B (22+) champion Nathan Hornacek, Arthur Blystone in the Vet B (30+) class and Senior B (40+) champion Leroy Shook.

In the morning races, Ohio's Dave Simmons took the Masters (50+) class championship once again and rightfully so as he dominated the ATV morning podium all season. Women's class champion Traci Cecco claimed her eighth career championship after a season-long battle with defending champion Kristen Atwell and 2011 runner-up Angel Atwell - all three Women graced the overall podium on several occasions this year.

The competition was tighter than ever in the Utility ATV classes this season. The 4x4 Open championship came down to the wire as Tennessee's Michael Swift and West Virginia's Bryan Buckhannon ended the season in a tie for points. Buckhannon edged out Swift in the final round as he claimed his sixth race-win to top Swift's five previous wins for the year. Tennessee's Clifton Beasley topped the U2 class with a nearly perfect season.
The Polaris National Guard/Coastal Drilling/Yokely Racing team, hailing from Tompkinsville, Kentucky, took the top UTV honors by winning the overall championship, as well as the Open Modified class title.

The 2011 GNCC Champions will be honored at this year's GNCC Awards Banquet December 2 and 3 in Morgantown, W. Va. at the Waterfront Place Hotel and Convention Center. The top 10 ATV/UTV racers in each class will receive awards on Friday, December 2 and the bikes will celebrate on Saturday, December 3. Dinner begins at 6 p.m. each night and advanced reservations are required. For more information on the banquet or to reserve a room at the Waterfront Place Hotel, please visit the 2011 Awards Banquet Page.

Congratulations to all 2011 GNCC ATV and UTV Class Champions!


XC1 Pro

Chris Borich

20+ C

Kevin Wallpe

XC2 Pro Am

Walker Fowler

24+ C

Randall Maupin

College A (16-21)

Braden Henthorn

30+ C

Casey Repass

Junior A (22+)

Jonathan Fugate

35+ C

Chris Staton

Vet A (30+)

Todd Demaree

40+ C

Kevin Wright

College B (16-21)

Landon Wolfe

4x4 Novice

Joshua Trafelet

Junior B (22+)

Nathan Hornacek

Women Novice (15+)

Kylie Ahart

Vet B (30+)

Arthur Blystone

S. Boy (13-15) Novice

Brayden Shick

Senior A (40+)

Tom Wright

90 Open (12-15)

Cody Collier

Senior B (40+)

Leroy Shook

90 Modified (12-15)

Zachary Jones


Clifton Beasley

90 Limited (11-15)

Thomas M. Owen

4x4 Open

Bryan Buckhannon

Girls (8-15)

Alyssa Oplinger


Traci Cecco

90 Open (8-11)

Hunter Hart

Super Senior (45+)

Barry G. Taylor

90 Modified (8-11)

Ronald Molitor

Masters (50+)

Dave A. Simmons

90 Limited (8-10)

Bryce Chipman

4x4 Lites

Kevin Trantham

70 CVT (6-11)

Sadie Welch

4x4 S. Senior (45+)

Forrest Whorton

UTV Open Modified

Polaris National Guard

Sport (15+)

Garon Davis

UTV Open Limited

Team Travalena

S. Boy (13-15) A/B

Brycen Neal

UTV Lites

Team Faith

16-19 C

Chad Jones

UTV Single Seat

John Trackside

About GNCC Racing
The Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series is America's premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1979, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,800 riders through tracks ranging in length from 10 to 12 miles, competing for more than $3 million in prizes. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. For more information, please visit

Share This Talk About This In Our Forums